Take Another Look (Again)

Today’s blog post was written and posted back in December 2011, and re-posted in 2014. And here it goes again! I think it’s good to revisit it every so often, just as a reminder.

When I say take another look, I mean take a bigger look. I’m talking about big picture thinking. Other terms for big picture thinking are: holistic thinking, expanded perspective, macro perspective, perception-enhancement and global vision. What I am suggesting is to raise above your current level of seeing (a situation, your life, etc). Raise above it and see what the view looks like from higher up. You might find that it suits you much better.

If seeing is believing, that means you take what you see to be the truth. Why believe something that isn’t working for you? I’m sure we have all said or heard the following views: “I’m broke”, “This is just the way I am (or she is, or he is, or they are)”, “Life is meaningless”, “They don’t care about me (or us)”, “It shouldn’t be like this (or they shouldn’t be like that)”, “This is so hard”, “It’s absolutely impossible”. Understand that there is always another view. Not only the view from another person (or animal, or insect), but an even broader view. Think aerial view. Think universal view! It’s that kind of view that is the most helpful, that gives someone the most advantage, the most freedom and the most power.

Think of something very personal that happened to you. Hold it in your mind. It’s hard to see it clearly because you are so close to it. You totally identify with it and you feel so close to every detail that it’s hard to see it clearly. It’s like holding a piece of paper up to your face. Imagine that paper being close, so close it’s only one inch away from your eyes. What do you see? Maybe only a few letters, or maybe some blurry words that you could take a guess at. Now pull that paper away from you so that you can read the whole sheet in context, fully and accurately. You needed some distance in order to see clearly, right?

What about something that happened to you years ago, something traumatic? Does it feel the same now as it did then? Think of something that happened 10 – 20 years ago that made you upset. Or think of a lover you had in your life. Think of how upset you were when the relationship was over. Now take your mind to the present. How does what happened years ago make you feel now? Did the distance help to get some clarity, some ease or greater awareness? This is the freedom that big picture thinking can give us in the moment — in the present, while it’s still happening!

Even if you can’t see the big picture. Even if you don’t know why something is happening to you, don’t worry. Just know that there is a bigger picture that only has your best interest at heart. Just the thought alone will revolutionize your life. But you have to take the time to step back and not take what you are seeing and experiencing personally. You have to see it from a greater awareness, a broader view.

2 Comments

Filed under big thinking

2 responses to “Take Another Look (Again)

  1. Khalid Teemer

    Strange how this post addresses something I’m going through at the moment. I was beginning to lose the faith that I ask for everyday and this just helped me to have a little more faith today. I recall how I was pretty fearless when I was younger (in my twenties) and my ex would say I was really lucky the way things always worked out for me. I think it was just that I KNEW things would work out, so I was constantly stepping out on ledges. And when I stepped out, a road would magically appear and I would be carried.

    • I’m so glad that post appeared at the right time for you! That is great news, and thanks so much for letting me know. I really appreciate it.

      And yes! I think you are right. Your youthful mindset paved a way (or kept a path clear) for you. Continue to stay open & optimistic & grateful. With that combination, you can’t lose. No matter how much we age, it’s best to stay flexible and ‘green’. It’s a youthful mindset that we have the power to choose (and to keep) in our lives.

Please, share your thoughts...

