Presence in Practice

presence-in-practice

I’m going to share with you several videos I’ve watched several times. Each time I watch them I am absolutely speechless at the truth and insight they share. They don’t share a popular view or common perspective, so I’m not sure as to what percentage of the population will be able to see their value. When I come across videos like these, it’s like finding a glass of cool, clean, drinking water, after forgetting how thirsty I’ve been. It’s humbling. And it’s a sobering reminder of what really matters to me. I often forget, because I get lost in the maze of consumerism and manipulative mass culture. I don’t get lost in it wildly, but just enough to lose sight of what’s most important.

Below is an interview with Jon Butler (in two parts) and another with John P. Milton. They come from vastly different backgrounds, but are essentially saying the same thing.

“In order to be who we are, we have to come out of what we are not.” … “Timeless, spaceless, indescribable pure being; being oneself. I Am. That’s what it’s all about, discovering oneself. Discovering what we are. And when we discover what we are, we can begin to be of use.” -John Butler

Artwork snagged from the amazing Instagram account of @charlie_davoli

2 Comments

Filed under presence

2 responses to “Presence in Practice

  1. Tam

    Aimee–a fellow Conscious TV watcher! I hadn’t discovered this John Butler interview–what a wonderful start to the morning. I’ve been savoring the beginning minutes…am going out for a run and will continue watching when I get back. It’s one of those interviews I want to linger over, though it’s tempting to watch it all now. I look forward to seeing the John Milton video, too.

    Thank you so much for your thoughtful-honest-insightful-filled-with-love Sunday posts. They are always reminders to me of the deepest reality.

    Love,

    Tam

    • Tam, you are?! :) Wow, so cool! I’m so glad you told me that.

      Ahw, thanks so much. I feel the same about you! Thanks for connecting with me over the years. I really appreciate your support and comments on SIFL. They too remind me of what is most important, and that I should keep going & keep staying true. :) A deeper reality is always worth the work & sharing. Thanks for being such a big part of that work.

      Lots of love & autumn cheer.

      Love,
      Aimee

Please, share your thoughts...

