Brave Little Dog

Brave Little Dog

I want to thank all of you. Thank you for being here and for reading my blog. Your support of last week’s blog post really touched my heart. As many of you know, my dog was very ill this month and I thought she was losing her life. It was a feeling that I had experienced before with her.

I adopted a rescued dog in 2014 that was narrowly saved from being euthanized. I knew when I adopted Pen-Pen (that’s her nickname) that she would need more help than I could probably handle. She had a host of illnesses when I got her, and I wasn’t sure if they were treatable. To my surprise, after only a few months of living with me, Pen-Pen transformed into a new dog! Her health rapidly improved and her personality came alive. But it wasn’t a quick or final fix, a few health issues remained. I continued to work with her and to do the best I could/can. But like the African saying goes, it takes a village to raise a child. I, along with many others have helped my dog, both before her adoption and after. And she continues to need the support of everyone. It’s something I had sincerely forgotten, but seeing her rapidly fall ill this month was a sobering reminder of that truth.

When we are in our most compassionate, most loving state, we look at everyone (including ourselves) as if they are children. At our core, we all are. We are all vulnerable, all needing assistance, all wanting nothing more than to be loved and seen. When we see each other in this way, all boundaries and facades fall away. The connection between each other becomes very real and intimate. We instantly feel connected and bonded. We also feel exposed and alive, like bare ecstatic babies.

Last week’s blog post was very challenging for me to share. I felt exposed and vulnerable in a way I hadn’t previously felt or owned up to. I did a lot of thinking (and debating) before I published that blog post. I kept thinking, “Do I really need help? Do I really need to tell people about this?” I did need help, and I did want to tell people about it — but I didn’t want to be judged or seen as needy. In hindsight, I can tell you that opening up to the world (to you!) is one of the best things I have ever done. I say this because I opened my heart to you and you opened your heart to me (& Pen-Pen.) It was a display of humanity at its finest, in a way that is rarely discussed or acknowledged.

A simple definition of the word Humanity is as follows:
the quality or state of being human
the quality or state of being kind to other people or to animals
all people

This is who we are, and who we were all being last week. We were being human. We were being kind to each other and kind to animals. We saw ourselves as all people — all living beings. The experience of that is the reason why that blog post, and the connection I made with all of you, is one of the best things I have ever experienced. I was able to see/feel compassion and love from all of you, but also a responsibility to that compassion and love.

When we are alive, it makes sense to have an affinity with others that are alive. Are we not in this together? Are we not made to connect with and support one another? Is life not one big interconnected delicate and deliberate web? It definitely felt that way this month.

I found the most endearing video. It’s a story of a small rescued dog. All that I am trying to describe in this blog post can be seen in this video. You see everyone coming together to save a life, and you see that life wanting to give back in return. …I feel very much like this dog (as he was at the end of the video, so happy and pleased to be loved and helped.)

This video was made possible by Hope For Paws Animal Rescue. Please visit their website and Youtube channel. They are doing amazing work that could use our support and encouragement.

2 Comments

Filed under animal rescue, tv & video

2 responses to “Brave Little Dog

  1. Deb

    That was such an upsetting story. The only saving grace is that there are remarkable people who are able to rescue and rehabilitate these precious little creatures.

    • It had an upsetting and disturbing start for sure — but the ending was so sweet! I was so happy for him. And I was also happy for all who worked to save him. I’m sure they were beside themselves at what great progress he made. He turned into such a healthy happy little guy. After all the beyond-extreme illness/trauma/pain he endured — he made it through! It’s a really incredible story. I find it to be so powerful and inspiring.

      Yes, thank goodness for the people at Paws For Hope. I can only imagine his fate if they hadn’t rescued him. I don’t even want to entertain the thought. I just can’t go there. It’s too much for my heart.

Please, share your thoughts...

