You are a Badass

badass quoteSo here I am, listening to Jen Sincero‘s You are a Badass: How to Stop Doubting Your Greatness and Start Living an Awesome Life audiobook. I’m in bed, totally snuggled in — with a bright glowy morning light reaching across the room, shining on my mini refrigerator’s door. I’m staring at it. There is also a tiny pinch of hunger in my belly. It’s the basic hungriness that happens in the morning. Not so much out of hunger, but out of habit. Maybe that’s what my life is too. A hunger out of habit. A hunger for wanting more & better, simply because it’s either what we are trained to do or what we do naturally. In either case, I do it a lot. It’s not regrettable, and I don’t mind that I do it often. The reason for this is, I know we are more gifted than we think we are. I know that each one of us contains magic. I know that life itself contains infinite possibilities. And we are life. We live it and we are it. So if we can be and live infinite possibilities, then why do we live less than blow-your-socks-off lives? Why do we play small and sell ourselves short?

“You’ve gotten to where you are right now, by doing whatever it is you’re doing. So if you’re less than impressed with your current situation — you clearly need to change things up. If you want to live a life you’ve never lived, you have to do things you’ve never done.”

The above quote is from Jen Sincero, and she believes that the only reason we are living ‘less than impressive’ lives is because we hold limiting beliefs in the areas we are struggling in/with. For example, if you have a less than fun financial life you probably hold some negative beliefs around money. And if you have a less than fulfilling romantic life, you probably hold some negative beliefs around romance & partnership.

If you want to experience the feeling of having so much security & financial abundance that it’s coming out of your ears — and the feeling of so much companionship & romance that a stream of steamy-love is flowing out of your heart (and other places) — you have to exude that type of energy! You have to be it & live it. It can’t be all wants, or all talk, or even have an ounce of doubt. You gotta be like, “Yeah, that’s me. It’s just the way my life is. It’s who I am. Money & romance love me. Wherever I go, there it is!” This is of course easier said than done, but it can be done. But like Jen said, if you hold any negative beliefs, any hidden opposing beliefs, from bad past experiences, or programing from your parents’ examples/native culture/religion, etc.. — it ain’t gonna happen for ya. You are blocking or jinxing it. Plain and simple, you are in the way or you are messing it up. Well, not you physically. Your thinking is. Be it subconscious or conscious, your thinking is affecting your energy, and therefore making you less effective. Less magnetic with what you truly desire.

I’m telling you all this because I am telling myself. I’m not saying I have money flowing or romance growing (you never know though!). I’m just telling you about what I am reading (rather, listening to, via audiobook) and thinking about today.

I like thinking and digging into life, and seeing what I find. The more I dig, the deeper my life gets, the more rich & interesting it gets. I like looking beneath the surface and giving life a poke. I’m not interested in superficial or robotic living, I want something more exciting. Something passionate and fun. Something to write about (hee, hee…).

Okay, back to the book…. It’s f*ckin’ great! I highly recommend it. (This blog post took me most of the day, and so did the book. I did both as I did a bunch of other things today. I know, it’s not good to multi-task. But sometimes I have to.) Back to the book again… It’s not some self-help cheering section, or a book of blowing smoke up your a**. It’s the real deal! It goes into great detail, it’s well thought out and clear. It gives you practical steps in achieving your gold star too-hot-to-handle badassness. It’s also very funny. And I have to tell you, I don’t laugh easily. I smile easily, yes. But I don’t laugh unless I really feel that something is worthy of laughter. And this book is. Jen Sincero is a great writer, and she makes me laugh. (And no, this is not a paid endorsement for this book. I had no idea what to write about today, and this book is all I could think of. Because it happened to be in my life and on my mind.)

I almost want to give you notes from the book, but then I will spoil it. Just know that it is a complementary book to the way I think and the topics this blog (Sunday Is For Lovers) covers weekly. I haven’t bumped into a book in a while that is right up my alley. That’s why I am so excited about this one.

Before I go… just let me say this…

Get out of your old stories about why you can’t do this, or about why life isn’t great, or about the cards you are dealt. Let it go! Let all that past baggage go. Your life, your reality, is based on what you focus on. If you want to focus on fear, negativity or lack — that’s what you will see. If you want to focus on the fact that life is hard, or it isn’t worth the effort — life will show you examples of why you are right! Yes, I said it. Life will say, “Yeah, you are right!” Not because you are or aren’t, but because life gives & reflects what you are tuned into most. If you are all about the color purple, that’s what you will see, everywhere! And that is what you will get. This is the case even if you hate purple! If all you think about is how much you hate purple, guess what? Presto! Here’s sh*t-load of purple for you!

If you feel that you aren’t getting something or somewhere in life, or if you dream of a life greater than the one you have… Consider this, what are you afraid to share? What part of you are you holding back? How are you playing small? What are you desperately trying to control? How are you guarded or jaded or tainted or timid? Figure it out, then knock it off. Stop. It isn’t serving you.

Try getting closer to life. Get all up in its face! Get naked, be vulnerable. Let it know how much you love it. Let it know how much you are grateful for it. And that you aren’t afraid of it. Tell it how much you want to play with it. Let it know you have so much to offer it. And that you can’t wait to share your heart, ideas, talents and resources. Let it know that you will fully give your life to it. From now on, there is no holding back. It’s you & life, arm in arm, cheek to cheek. Walking off into the sunset, off in the distance. What a picture that is. How could that not be magical? All it takes is a refined focus and a better plan. That’s it. Change your mind, tweak your habits, and then get to work! Let’s make it happen.

1 Comment

Filed under good books, inspiration, sunday is for lovers

One response to “You are a Badass

  1. Pingback: Gaining Momentum – Day 29 of 92 | AIMEELOVESYOU (the rainbow farmer)

Please, share your thoughts...

