Andy Kehoe: The Edge of the Unknown

Andy Kehoe - At the Edge of an Unknown World

Around 2007 I lost my desire to appreciate art; to both view and create it. Every invitation to go to a museum or gallery opening was turned down. (While living in NYC, it’s easy to get several invitations per week to view artists and their work, especially if you are connected to the art community there.)

It’s 2015, and I haven’t fully recovered my desire or former passion for art viewing or art making. Something in me has been pulling towards the ephemeral and intangible — more so the spiritual. Over the last seven years I’ve felt much closer to spirit (energy) than to matter. I seem more interested in fleeting moments, plant matter, super-powers and phenomena. It’s what I spend my time thinking about, it’s what I want to get to know, it’s why I moved out of the city and closer to nature.

Whenever I view the deep tree saturated mountain vistas and the magical ever-changing sky, I’m reminded of my own nature, my own spirit — the spirit that is life itself. I feel at ease, and I feel at home. It’s a feeling that I wasn’t getting from big city art gigs or fancy art gallery openings.  And since I wasn’t seeing it (or feeling it), I stopped connecting with that world — completely. I disconnected from art and art lovers.

There are very few artists that try to capture the ephemeral or the unknown, and simply represent mystery, spirit or energy. Alex Grey is someone who is wildly famous for illustrating what can not be seen with the naked eye. I can appreciate his work, but I don’t feel that it touches on what I feel, or what I know. It doesn’t draw me in. With such a small handful of artists that speak with their work and participate in the conversation of the Unseen, it’s hard to find one that resonates with me.

Only recently have I found an artist that speaks to my current journey and how I feel. His name is Andy Kehoe, and he has a large following online. That’s how I found his work. I’d love to buy his “At the Edge of the Unknown World” piece. I haven’t wanted to buy art in years! I’m really happy that I found Andy’s work, because it means that I haven’t lost my love or interest in fine art, I just lost interest in work that doesn’t represent what I currently feel, and the desire I have to connect with nature and spirit.

Below is a christmas list of Andy’s art. I love all of these pieces! But he has much more. I’ll leave his information below, so you can view his whole body of work. I chose the pieces that speak to me, but there might be others that speak to you.

Mother of the Lone Wolf
Andy Kehoe Art - Mother of the Lone Wolf Print

Roamer of the Subterranean Forest
Andy Kehoe - Roamer of the Subterranean Forest

Onward Again My Friend
Andy Kehoe - Onward Again My Friend

Dream Chamber
Dream Chamber Print - Andy Kehoe

Mutual Enchantment
Andy Kehoe Artwork - Mutual Enchantment Print

Together in Love and Wonder
Andy Kehoe - Together in Love and Wonder

Information on Andy Kehoe:

Andy Kehoe Website

Andy Kehoe Instagram

Andy Kehoe Facebook

5 Comments

Filed under art & film, artists, spirituality

5 responses to “Andy Kehoe: The Edge of the Unknown

  1. Debbie

    Wow… Beautiful. His work gives me chills and brought tears to my eyes…

    Thank you.

  2. tam

    Aimee, thanks so much for sharing Andy’s work. I especially love “Mutual Enchantment.”

    I also wanted to thank you for recommending the documentary, “Iris,” a while back. I watched it a few nights ago and enjoyed it so much! Do you remember one of the last scenes, where Iris is walking down the sidewalk wearing jeans with huge bell bottoms and a white fringed jacked–loved it!

    Tam

    • Tam! :) Hi

      Yes, I do remember that scene. It was so great. I’m thrilled you enjoyed the film and got a chance to watch it. Hooray!

      Iris is such a gem. :) She’s very inspiring.

      Sending you lots of love!

      Have a great Sunday! :) Xx…

      Love,
      Aimee

  3. Pingback: You Were Meant to Soar | Sunday Is For Lovers by AimeeLovesYou

Please, share your thoughts...

