12 Life Changing Questions

life changing questions

This week a friend sent me a link to some interesting questions. They were 35 life changing questions written by Jason Nazar (in 2013, at Forbes). I’ll share only 12 of the questions with you (because 35 is a lot!), and then I’ll answer them myself. Feel free to email me or comment with your answers too. It wold be fun and interesting to know how people are answering the questions.

  1. What are you pretending not to know?
  2. Why don’t you do the things you know you should be doing?
  3. What are your values and are you being true to them?
  4. Are your “shoulds” getting in the way of your happiness?
  5. If you achieved all of your life’s goals how would you feel? How can you feel that along the way?
  6. If you weren’t scared what would you do?
  7. What/Who did you make better today?
  8. What do you want your life to be in 5 years?
  9. What can you do today to improve?
  10. What’s your WHY?
  11. If we could wave a magic wand and do anything together, what would that look like?
  12. How would your role models act and carry themselves?

What are you pretending not to know?
I’m definitely pretending not to know how much ignorance (which manifests as hatred, greed, stress, mindlessness, destruction and abuse) is in the world. You see, I pretend not to know as I indeed know. Who I am is a direct result of all that is ‘wrong’ with the world. The optimism I carry, the beliefs that I have, the work that I create, the blog posts that I write, the goals that I pursue — they are all aimed to raise the level of awareness, and to be more mindful. In order to carry on this way, it’s best for me to ‘tune out’ of the news, shopping malls, rat race, and other mind & spirit influencing distractions that program the general population — often programing them in the worst way.

Why don’t you do the things you know you should be doing?
Mostly because it doesn’t feel authentic to me. And sometimes because I’m simply being lazy and enjoying my freedom to be in the moment.

What are your values and are you being true to them?
Integrity, Openness, Well-being, Forgiveness, Awareness, Creativity, Authenticity, Excellence, Fairness, Trust, Self-discipline… I could go on and on. Some are easier for me than others. The hardest ones are probably Integrity and Authenticity. I do a lot of things to ‘save face’, and I don’t like that about myself. I wish I had the heart to ‘tell it straight’. But often, I don’t want to hurt feelings. This also can be turned around on myself. Sometimes I go on too long with things, before I look myself in the face and get real with myself.

Are your “shoulds” getting in the way of your happiness?
Sometimes. I’ve lived a very alternative lifestyle for a very long time (and practiced cutting out the shoulds). So I don’t have shoulds that rule me. Not in friendships, family, or work. Except… the ‘save face’ part that I mentioned above. Sometimes I do say or do things (like visit, call, small-talk, etc.) because I don’t want to hurt someone’s feelings. But it’s not often. And if it is, or becomes more frequent, I try to snip it in the bud. I’m definitely aware of it, which makes it easier to see and stop.

If you achieved all of your life’s goals how would you feel? How can you feel that along the way?
I would feel a sense of lightness and completeness.
Again, it’s very similar to the answers above. I’d like to connect with people on a deeper more authentic level. I’d like to be more bold, more communicative, more straightforward — even at the risk of hurting feelings. I think I would inspire more people, than people that would have feelings hurt. I noticed the more I hold off, hold back or shut down — the heavier I feel and the more incomplete my life is. If I can boldly stand in who I am, and what is important to me, and how I feel — so much more can be accomplished. Life would be much more clear and straightforward. There would be a power present, that isn’t fully present now.

If you weren’t scared what would you do?
I would make videos. I would vlog. Fear is a big part of that, but a lot of other things are wrapped into it. I’m not used to being in front of a camera, so I feel like I wouldn’t be comfortable or have anything to say. But the only way to know for sure, is to test it. To actually do it and see how it feels and unfolds.

What/Who did you make better today?
I definitely feel that I made two people better today. In the way that I usually do; encouraging them to be better/brighter. I’m always doing this for myself (giving pep talks to myself), so it’s easy to do it for others — and I enjoy it.
I also ate super-healthy today. So I would imagine I made my health a little better too. And my dogs too! :) We took a great walk in the sun, and we both ate healthfully, and we had plenty of snuggle time.

What do you want your life to be in 5 years?
Powerful, Peaceful, Promising.

What can you do today to improve?
Look at what I wrote today, and take mental note.
Get to bed early.
Wake up early.
Say ‘yes’ or ‘no’ when I am being asked something.

What’s your WHY?
The big why for most of the choices in my life (that seem odd to most people) is because I cherish freedom. I protect it. And often, when I am making big decisions, I compare it to my need for freedom. Will it give me more freedom, or take it away? If the answer is the latter, I tend to stay clear of it. Of course this is not the case for everything, but it is true for many things. Especially my work and relationships.

If we could wave a magic wand and do anything together, what would that look like?
If I could do anything with someone, being silent and just being comes to mind. Maybe make a video. Maybe dance. Maybe star gaze or go for a walk. Maybe help someone in need. Something simple. Something personal and intimate. Something loving and appreciative of Life.

How would your role models act and carry themselves?
Bold and loving. Fierce* and giving. I also think they would have a direct/strong presence, and be in tune with nature and animals.
(I mean fierce in the slang way.)

Leave a comment

Filed under change, insight, questions

Please, share your thoughts...

