Highly Recommended: Chasing Ice

chasing+ice+james+balog

I finally got to watch Chasing Ice this week. I tried to catch it in local theaters when it was playing, but I missed it. Now it’s on Netflix, and I got to watch it on my own schedule. I loved it just as much as I thought I would. It’s an important film. It’s a must see and a must recommend. In this day & age awareness is imperative. Please be aware, please make sure those around you are aware. Watch Chasing Ice to see what I mean. It’s just the tip of the iceberg though! Awareness in general is ongoing, and is extremely important to every aspect of our lives. And in many cases, our lives depend on it.

glacier-james-balog

“All the time. There is an acute sense of time passing, an acute sense of mortality, an acute sense of history in the making with this project. And history is in the making. These landscapes are being reshaped as you and I talk here. And the people of the future, decades and centuries in the future, will look at these pictures and marvel at what was and is no more. …And the other thing that will happen when they look at these pictures is they will wonder why the people of the techno-industrial world were not paying better attention to this issue when we had all this evidence to hand.” — James Balog

chasing ice movie
[Photographs are by James Balog, and the whole film is based on his work.]

2 Comments

Filed under art & film, awareness, tv & video

2 responses to “Highly Recommended: Chasing Ice

  1. Sita

    Thnx :) We’ll get Netflix later this year, but I found this on youtube:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OX-CrqVE7-E Will be watching it tonight, hope the link will keep working the full movie. Thought I’d share it anyway :)

  2. Wow! Very helpful! Thanks for posting the link. I know many people will appreciate it. Xx!

Please, share your thoughts...

