I ♥ Documentaries (again)

As most people that know me well know, I prefer to read non-fiction books & to see documentary films. I think all those years of making art & having a creative lifestyle left me pretty content when it came to fantasies or imagination. So when it was time to relax away from work, I wasn’t looking for a playful escape. I was usually looking for something that would get me thinking. Or something that would bring me closer to an industry, artist, subject, or truth; that I wasn’t able to see in my somewhat reclusive life. I tend to be quite social & friendly in person, but in a very random way (when it happens, if I happen to be out). I’m very social online through my work, but not attention-seeking at all in person. I tend to like a quiet existence with lots of time to think (or not think). Just lots of time to follow where each thought or moment takes me.

Over the last year I’ve spent quite a bit of time at home working on projects, studying things that I love, or spending intimate moments with close friends. I’ve relished these slower yet more reflective months. It’s been time well spent that has greatly enriched my life. It gave it a deeper, more rooted foundation.

During that time I saw quite a few documentaries that I enjoyed. Some I stumbled upon alone & others were recommended by friends. Today I will share several of them with you. Just as I did some time ago back in 2010, on my blog post: I ♥ Documentaries.

Bill Cunningham New York

The Woodmans

Senna

George Harrison: Living in the Material World

Charles & Ray Eames: The Architect and the Painter

I also enjoyed…

Jiro Dreams of Sushi

Carmen and Geoffrey

Chris & Don: A Love Story

Note by Note: The Making of Steinway L1037

Edie & Thea: A Very Long Engagement

The films I posted (video or link) are listed in no particular order. They are all equally special. I enjoyed them all & felt that they had much to share.

To view my previous blog post on selected documentaries: click here.

Leave a comment

Filed under art & film, tv & video

Please, share your thoughts...

