‪Prague Gnosis ~ Terence Mckenna Interviews Ram Dass‬

By chance this week I stumbled upon a video that I adore. It’s a conversation over coffee with two of my favorite minds; Terence Kemp Mckenna & Ram Dass.

Their conversation was filled with things to giggle at, things to take on, & things to pass along. It was one of the best interviews & definitely one of the most candid free-flowing discussions I have seen in a while. (Or maybe ever. None that compare come to mind at the moment.) They also talked about the future (this video is from 1992) & it’s interesting to hear them talk about a time that is happening right now.

I also loved that they touched upon revolution & it’s various forms, including the importance of a non-confrontational revolution. (I wrote something on that very topic this week. I will share it as a blog post next week so you can see it.) Over-all I loved every minute of the interview as I smiled & sat on the edge of my seat. I truly felt like two people were discussing everything I find important & wish to explore.

I decided to note the exchanges between Terence Mckenna & Ram Dass‬ that I found either funny or valuable. I also listed random quotes that I enjoyed. But don’t let these notes mislead you. There is still so much more to take from their discussion. I can’t recommend enough for you to watch all 4 videos. They all have much to offer & the delivery of the information is quote entertaining. They both have quite a sense of humor, as does their waiter.

Notable exchanges I enjoyed between Terence Kemp Mckenna & Ram Dass: (You might not find them funny, understand them, or enjoy them out of context. So feel free the skip past them & go straight to the videos. You can always read them after. They’ll make more sense that way.)

RD: ‬[Says to TKM] Go beyond the isms to tell me what we are really finding.‬
TKM: We’re finding a world made out of mind instead of stuff.

RD: [Says to TKM about TKM] Just clinging, just clinging.
TKM: Just aspiring to cling! Actually I live the life of an ascetic, it’s my aspirations that are pulling me down.‬

TKM: Can you make a revolution without inner righteousness?‬
RD: That’s the far-out question of ; Where would the action come from? There is this line in Buddhism that says, “Out of emptiness arises compassion”. And what I’ve experienced is; that there is a way in which I can sit down in front of a truck, or feed a person, or go make love, or go surf. And there is an appropriateness in every one of those acts. But for me to hear that, I really gotta shut up. My work is to keep shutting up. And if it’s a revolution, so be it.‬

TKM: Blake said a wonderful thing, if I can get it right. He said, “If the truth can be told, so as to be understood, it will be believed .” [The actual quote is: ‬”Truth can never be told so as to be understood, and not be believed.” – William Blake ]
RD: When can you say it simply enough? Is it only said in silence simply enough? Or are there words?‬

RD: My life is my message.‬
TKM: I think I’m at a little lower level. Because I am very aware that I have to struggle to say my life is my message. I almost rather say, “My message is my message, please don’t look at my life because I’m a fallible human being and I’m constantly fucking up”.‬
RD: But do you see how that weakens your message? You see how that quality means that the message doesn’t come from the root? There is a way in which it waffles. […] Why waffle? What is worth holding onto that is worth waffling about?‬

RD: I was afraid of you up until now. Now I am delighted to be with you.‬
TKM: No, no. Don’t be afraid of me. The people that are afraid of me either don’t know me, or know me better than you ever will.‬

The four videos:

Additional quotes I enjoyed from the interview…

Terence Mckenna Quotes:‬

‪”We once knew everything we need to know. So, what we are trying to find out is lost knowledge, not new knowledge.‬”

‪”There is a transcendental dimension beyond language. It’s just hard as hell to talk about it.‬”

‪”What they [psychedelics] seem to do generically is, they seem to dissolve boundaries. And the ego is in the business of creating, maintaining, & defending boundaries.”‬

‪”The core process which is running us over the edge is our inability to emotionally connect with the consequences of what we are doing. If in a single moment we could feel what we are doing we would stop.‬”

‪”I think it was ‬Friedrich Nietzsche‪ that said, ‘There was only one Christian & they crucified him’.”
[The actual quote is: ‬”There never was more than one Christian, and he died on the Cross.” – Friedrich Nietzsche ]

Ram Dass Quotes: ‬

‪”All this business of a Christ figure. I see how seductive it is. But we’ve gotten very cynical. We’ve projected into such a person a purpose. Instead of just that life forming out of the needs of the moment.‬”

‪”Death is absolutely safe. It’s like taking off a tight shoe.‬”

‪”All this destruction is just the process of transformation.‬”

‪”Ahhhhhw! It’s the ecstasy of total horror & total beauty at the same moment.‬”

5 Comments

Filed under awareness, great quotes, in the know, revolution, tv & video, unlearning

5 responses to “‪Prague Gnosis ~ Terence Mckenna Interviews Ram Dass‬

  1. I just watched this interview for the first time and it simply blew me away! Two beautiful minds, having tea. Awesome!

  2. Pingback: TRUST LOVE // BREATHE EASY | AIMEELOVESYOU – Week in Review

  3. Pingback: Comedians In Cars Getting Coffee | AIMEELOVESYOU – Week in Review

  4. steve marshank

    I made this film and it’s great to see it proliferated on the web so widely. Something that many people are interested in knowing is that the waiter was not Czech, but rather a German character named Mickey Reman who was known for promoting things like underwater concerts. Terence knew him but it was a surprise to see Mickey show up as the waiter. Ram Dass had no idea who he was and that he was anything other than a Czech waiter.

    Steve Marshank

    • Hi Steve,
      Wow, very cool. Glad you connecting with the blog. It’s nice to meet you.
      Ya, I thought the waiter was an actor, or someone playing along. I got that vibe from watching.
      I love this video of Dass & Mckenna. Two people I really enjoy listening to, to watch them together is a gift. Thank you.

Please, share your thoughts...

