Unconditional Love and Self-Empowerment Revolution: RuPaul!

I was watching RuPaul’s Drag U show the other day. I loved this scene where this over-weight woman (contestant on the show) who had low self-esteem kept getting stuck on the idea that she was too fat to be fabulous. RuPaul was giving her advice and this is part of what he said, “When I think about my Glamazon, would that character get down if someone said her thighs were heavy? No. She knows what other people think is none of her damn business.” What I loved about that scene in the show was, RuPaul was helping someone stand up to who they really are. Not who they are at their best, but who they are at their core! It reminded me that my biggest self doesn’t have limits, doesn’t come from a place of conditional love — it lives boldly & bravely, loves unconditionally and thinks highly of itself. Yes! What a great reminder.

Here are a few more RuPaul quotes that I love…

“If you don’t love yourself, how in the hell you gonna love somebody else?”

“Very little is off -limits, but draw the line at being unkind.”

“We all came into this world naked. The rest is all drag.”

10 Comments

Filed under great quotes, more love

10 responses to “Unconditional Love and Self-Empowerment Revolution: RuPaul!

  1. Stacie J- aka- ThickTX QT

    I’m not usually a blog reader but I was looking for that same quote and came across this. I agree with you so much about RuPaul and how she makes people feel like nothing can stand in the way of them being themselves. I watch Drag U just to here excerpts from the book – until I can get my hands on my own copy. She shoots from the hip, tells it like it is and comes real with it all the time, but never does it in a way to make anyone feel “less than”. Thanks for sharing ….now everybody say “LOVE”

    • Good point!–> “comes real with it all the time, but never does it in a way to make anyone feel “less than”

      She stays fabulous & powerful, sharp as a tack & motivating, but never ‘holier than thou’. It’s seems to come from a very sincere & compassionate place in her. And for me it is very inspiring. Whenever I watch or read her I feel that I love myself (& others) just a little bit more. I can’t get enough of RuPaul, just like one can never get enough love. :)

      Thanks for reading the blog & thanks for spreading the LOVE! :) Xo!

  2. vizyons

    I love this blog, while I think I am fabu in my own right I have every reason to HATE how FAB Ru is as a woman! OMG

  3. Joanne Shepard

    RuPaul is very creative, wise and generous, I adore RuPaul.
    I would love to work for him

  4. Jillian

    I’m thrilled that I came across your blog. I as well as Stacie was looking for Ru’s quote “If you don’t love yourself, how in the hell you going to love somebody else?” I love Ru and I saw that episode of Drag U you’re right it was touching the way she gave the girls their self confidence back. All the girls at Drag U are great! I need to go buy Ru’s book I’m going through a little funk and think she’s the one person that could help get me through : ).

  5. I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I
    am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem.
    You are incredible! Thanks!

    • I am so grateful for your cousin. Thank you for visiting my blog. I’m glad you found this post and my work helpful. I am always here for you. Thanks for your kind words and encouragement! Much love to you.

  6. How can he make himself look so busty and when he’s him self he looks like a guy suppose to?

Please, share your thoughts...

