Like Minds

I love books. You know why? Because I don’t always meet people that think like me, but with the millions of books out there, I find many. I read books for confirmation, inspiration and information. This week I read a book for confirmation. I always feel so lucky when I find an author who can articulate my thoughts better than I can. It makes me feel not-so-crazy. Or at least, that they are as crazy as me. In any case, it makes me feel better.

The book I read this week was, Ramtha: The White Book. I enjoyed every minute of it. I will list a few quotes. There were many that resonated with me, but I only posted the ones that suit this blog entry well.

One thing I wanted to point out and was happy to discover, was the author’s frequent use of the phrase Self Love. Whenever I mention ‘self love’ in conversations, people often assume I mean it in a narcissistic way. Many people don’t quite ‘get it’ like I’m saying it. I mean it in its highest sense. Your life, your world, exists through you only. No one else. When you eat, when you love, when you work, when you sleep, when you think, it’s all about you! Others are your mirrors. If you can see that everyone is you, and that you are responsible for your life, and your contribution to the world — everything opens up. The world (your world) becomes limitless. The more in touch you are with you, the more in touch you will be with others. The more love you have for yourself, the more love you will have for those around you. Does that make sense?

I talk about this all the time because it is the way that I found happiness. After years of depression, I began to realize that it grew out of self hate. The more I hated myself, the more I hated life. I saw life as a burden and a struggle. My life was based on doing what I had to, and waiting to see what happens to me next (instead of creating what happens next). I felt like I didn’t have a choice. Now my life is based on enjoying every minute and everyone. This slowly started to develop out of self love. The more I loved myself, the more love I saw in the world. My life is now my choice, it feels limitless, and I feel blessed to be here. I also feel very lucky to be able to share it with others. That powerful lifesaving transformation happened out of self love. When I say ‘self love’, that’s the kind of love of self I am referring to.

Below are a few goodies (selected quotes) from the book. I hope they resonate with you too!

“Only you can be your greatest lover.”

“You cannot truly see or be aware of the beauty of all life or express the depths of love and compassion for others until you have first seen your own sublime beauty and expressed love and compassion for yourself.”

“You are the life that you perceive to be outside of you.”

“You alone are your greatest teacher, for only you know what is the best of all things for you.”

“No one can teach you of your God Self; they can teach you only of theirs.”

“There is no greater love in life than the love of self. There is no greater love, for it is from that embrace of self that freedom exists. And it is from that freedom that joy is born.”

“You possess within you the power to know and to be all things.”

“You are wholly responsible for your own beauty, your own being, your own sorrowful or wonderful life.”

“You are the only one who loves you steadfastly enough to go through the things you have gone through.”

[The very cool illustration is by Jessica of Vol.25]

5 Comments

Filed under great quotes, more love, transformation

5 responses to “Like Minds

  1. This book sounds wonderful…I want to get it!
    I decided while back to start a conscious love affair with myself…still working on it…I love all the parts you picked…Really wonderful.Merci for sharing;-)
    XoXo.

  2. this is a distinction (self-love) i also remember making some time ago & that can be difficult to describe/explain…but you did so perfectly ;0

    i got away from it and that is why i found myself so badly in need of intensive self-loving and thus my “raw transformation.”

    amazing that this approach to self flies in the face of how most of the world thinks & is actually considered to be selfish in an ugly way–when it really is the least “selfish” thing someone can do for both their self and others…

    btw, i don’t have an issue with the word selfish, and i think the fact that people think of it in a negative light is part of the whole misconception.

    thanks aimee, i love that you have this one stellar post you put out once a week.

    –ken

    • …Exactly. Selfish means that you are focused on self. We should all be! Trouble is, most people are focused on what others think & are always eager to escape from self (..drugs, food, movies, TV, alcohol, work, hanging-out, pleasing others, distractions, etc.). Then they are left wondering why they aren’t happy, or why their health (relationships, etc.) took a wrong turn. When we get back to what’s right for us, ..what would be the loving thing we could do for ourselves. We naturally do right by others & love them better. -At least that is my experience. I’m pretty sure that it’s a universal one. :) So yes, I think selfish is a good thing when it’s about putting your highest self first & doing what works best for you. Xo! Xx..

  3. Pingback: Meeting Like Minds | Sunday Is For Lovers by AimeeLovesYou

Please, share your thoughts...

