Give Thanks

rain-india

[E-mail I sent to a friend.]

Subject: Give Thanks
Date: Feb 9, 2009

Another day of feeling out-of-sorts. I felt a little overwhelmed and under loved today. Basically a bunch of stuff/emotions/people/ideas all jumbled up in my head. I almost didn’t go to yoga class because I felt out-of-it. I didn’t want to face myself in the mirror almost naked for 90 minutes. (In Bikram the walls are mirrored and most wear bathing suits, and you must look at yourself as you practice poses.) But I went. I knew I would feel worse if I stayed home. During class I was sweating like crazy. In one pose I was dripping sweat so loudly that it sounded like rain. The sound woke me up! Before that I was going from pose to pose in a fog of thoughts and stress. All of a sudden, I heard the sound of water drops falling and it brought me back to India! I had a flash back of being in a huge stone ashram seated on the floor. This ashram had no walls. Only a roof with big columns all around. I would go there everyday (back in 2001), 2-3 times a day to meditate. When it rained, you could hear it like it was right next to you. It was the same sound I heard in yoga class today. Drops of water falling right next to me. It was a beautiful sound. It brought me to my true self again. It pulled me out of the ego; out of petty problems and back to my spirit. Back to who I really am. Back to what is really important. What is important is what is permanent. The spirit, the love, the peace, the joy — the unchanging priceless feelings in life. They are in us at all times. Sometimes we need to quiet the mind and ego to hear/feel/see them. I’m grateful I was able to hear/feel/see it today.

2 Comments

Filed under awareness, emails

2 responses to “Give Thanks

  1. Hi really like your Blog, what are you thoughts on hatha yoga? I also found this really good guide on yoga that I think I might get, do you know any one that has got it and if it is any good? Here is the link http://budurl.com/runnersyoga

    • Thanks. :)
      I love hatha yoga! I’m certified to teach classical hatha yoga. When I studied it I became much more invested in the philosophy vs. the asanas. It was the asanas that brought me there, they were my first steps, so I think it’s perfect. I’m creating a full circle now. Because now I work to keep the asanas in my life. It’s easy for me to focus on the philosophical parts of practice and lose my physical practice. It takes work for me to keep it up. Thanks for sharing the link. It’s new to me. Xo…

Please, share your thoughts...

