Umbrella for $2.99?

[Email I sent to a friend.]

From: AimeeLovesYou
Subject: Re: Where did my cup of coffee really come from this morning?
Date: Oct 1, 2008 8:10 PM

I was just thinking about that sort of thing today. I bought an umbrella for $2.99. I was so geeked on myself. Like, “Yeah! I got a bargain! Cool.”  …Then I thought, “No, wait, this is not good, I didn’t get a bargain, this purchase supported cheap labor, toxic plastics, synthetic fabrics, shipping from China, damage to the planet, more junk to the New York landfills, I did not gain …I lost! I didn’t get-over or benefit one bit. I lost money. This ‘cheap’ umbrella will cost me more in the end. It will cost all of us more in the end.”

But at least I am aware now. That is the first step.

Leave a comment

Filed under emails

Please, share your thoughts...

