Just Show Up

[An email I sent to a friend.]

From: AimeeLovesYou
Subject: 2008 Wednesday
Date: Jul 9, 2008 10:26 PM

Yes! So proud of myself today! I ran with the NYC training group. Happy me. This was like pulling teeth. I so didn’t want to go. The last time I was there it was too much for me and I felt like vomiting. Super-sick feelings the whole time. I wasn’t in the mood to go through that again today. But I kept telling myself, “Aimee, I promise it will feel no better if you blow it off. You will feel guilty and not good about yourself” then I said, “OK, just show up. That is all you have to do. You can under-perform, run your own laps, anything you want, but just show up.” Well, finally I did show up (10 minutes late.) And the first thing out of coach’s mouth was, “Aimee, I’m really happy that you showed up. Thanks.” I was so proud of myself! My pace was good, I hung-in there, I felt fine. No stomach issues, no problems with the heat. Felt great. I was proud.

That is going to be my new thing. When I am scared, or doing something that feels beyond me, I will say, “Aimee, just show up. You can leave early, under-perform, anything you want, but just show up.”

Leave a comment

Filed under emails, power & courage

Please, share your thoughts...

