Stop Suffering and Start Trusting: Buckminster Fuller Paves The Way

“Dare to think for yourself.”

“Do more with less.”

“Be aware of the power of your word.”

“Don’t be preoccupied with the negative, be preoccupied with the constructive.”

“Forget the trouble, go to work!”

[This blog post was previously written and posted in October of 2011.]

Richard Buckminster Fuller is by far one of my most beloved thinkers. When I feel overwhelmed, when I don’t know where to start, when I think it’s all too much – he nails it. He says just what I need to hear in order to get to work!

I will share two of my favorite videos from a 5 part interview with Buckminster Fuller for this blog post. I have also transcribed a few of my favorite quotes for you. I hope these videos resonate with you as much as they do for me. If not, come back next year (after 2012) and view them again! You might feel differently.

“What I see in doing my own thinking is the following: that the animals don’t have any money, and the sun and the wind doesn’t have any money. If money is some kind of invention of humans, and I see that all of ecology on board of our planet is inter-supportive and the Universe itself by the best we know in physics is eternally regenerative, it’s 100 percent efficient, that what goes on in our little planet must be in support of the eternal regeneration of the greater Universe itself. So I said, I see ecology is inter-regenerative, and it could be, that if I understood what human beings are here for on our planet, what we are supposed to be doing in the local Universe – if I were then to undertake, to support and make that a success, to make the human beings a success themselves, to get rid of the “it has to be you or me earning a living” idea, to get that out of the way, if I could commit myself to that effectively, it might be that nature would support me just the way she has the hummingbird supporting this other little nest and so forth. So, it needs then a commitment to doing a big task on a working assumption of absolute faith in the integrity of the Universe itself. There is a greater intelligence operating in the Universe then that of human beings. And, if you can commit yourself to faith in that, you may find that you can get on.”

“Only the impossible happens. I’ve been up against miracle after miracle. Just as I need things at the critical moment, the last critical moment, then I have what I need.”

“I have now come to the most extraordinary realization: that all of the great governments, all of the great religions, all of the great businesses would find it devastating to their activity to have man be a success, they are all predicated on man being an inherent failure.”

“If success or failure of this planet, and of human beings, depended on how I am and what I do… HOW WOULD I BE? WHAT WOULD I DO?”

The remaining videos…
Part 1video link.
Part 4video link.
Part 5video link.

1 Comment

Filed under bright minds, brilliant people, great quotes

One response to “Stop Suffering and Start Trusting: Buckminster Fuller Paves The Way

  1. Love the Fuller posts thank you!

Please, share your thoughts...